Veranstaltung im Fokus

Veranstaltung im Fokus

NORMCORE

09.September 2019

image © Transformer

Normcore“ – ein Schachtelwort, zusammengesetzt aus den Begriffen normal und hardcore – bezeichnet einen aktuellen Trend, der sich gegen das Diktat der Regelkonformität auflehnt. Mit ihrer immersiven Ausstellung NORMCORE gehen die Berliner Künstler Sascha Appelhoff und Lena von Goedeke dem Konzept der Norm im europäischen Kontext nach, wo Normen gemeinhin synonym mit Bürokratie gesetzt werden.

Appelhoff und von Gödeke nehmen den Begriff normcore zum Aufhänger für eine Rebellion und hinterfragen den Normbegriff und das Klischee des streng regelkonformen Deutschen, indem sie an dessen Stelle ihre eigene Wahrnehmung von Normen – Zeichen, Maßangaben, Symbole – setzen. Gleichzeitig spielen sie mit dem metrischen System in den USA, wo die deutschen Regeln nicht gelten.

Die Ausstellung beginnt mit einem Eröffnungsempfang am Samstag, dem 7. September, und wird bis zum 10. Oktober in Transformers Räumlichkeiten in der P Street in Washington DC zu sehen sein. Am 23. Oktober findet ein Künstlergespräch an der American University statt.

Die NORMCORE-Ausstellung wird in komprimierter Fassung durch eine Schaufenster-Installation mit dem Titel normcore flankiert. Die Installation ist vom 12. Oktober bis 16. November zu sehen.

Transformer präsentiert NORMCORE im Rahmen der 16. Transformer Silent Auction & Benefit Party unter Vorsitz der deutschen Botschafterin in den USA, Emily Haber.

Weitere Informationen zu NORMCORE und normcore sowie zu den Ausstellungszeiten und -orten finden Sie hier.

Gefördert durch

Realisiert durch

Unterstützt durch

Featured Events

Flying Steps
Featured Events

NORMCORE

September 9, 2019

image © Transformer

The term “Normcore,” a portmanteau of “normal” and “hardcore,” refers to a recent trend that challenges the concept of adhering to rules and standards as a way of rebelling and standing out. With NORMCORE, an immersive exhibition, Berlin-based artists Sascha Appelhoff and Lena von Goedeke examine the concept of a “norm,” particularly in the context of Europe, which are commonly perceived as a stand-in for bureaucracy.

Using the term normcore and its meaning as a framework for rebellion, Appelhoff and von Gödeke challenge this concept and the cliché of the uptight rule-following German through their own perception of “norms” – in signs, sizes, and symbols – and playing with the metric system in the USA, where none of the German rules apply.

The exhibition will begin with an opening reception on Saturday, September 7 and be on view at Transformer’s P Street location in Washington, DC until October 10. An artist talk about the exhibition will take place on Wednesday, October 23 at American University.

In addition to the NORMCORE exhibition, an accompanying storefront installation entitled normcore presents a condensed version of the installation. The storefront will be open following the installation from October 12 to November 16.

These events are held in conjunction with Transformer’s 16th Annual Silent Auction & Benefit Party, which is chaired by German Ambassador Emily Haber.

For more information on NORMCORE and normcore as well as exhibition times and locations, click here.

funded by

implemented by

supported by